I’ve received another e-mail from a reader who encountered a real estate scam by someone using the last name of Rinaggio. We’ve had JoAnn and Karen and now we have George.
The following e-mail comes from Lindsay.
I want to report another apartment scam artist. I think this person has posted before as Joann or Karen Rinaggio. This time he/she posted at George Rinaggio, offering me a two bedroom apartment in a house that belongs to someone else who in turn is actually trying to rent their basement apartment at the same address.
This George character talks in broken english through e-mails, claims to be living in North Carolina and suggests that I go and look at the house and decide if I want it. He sent me pictures of the interior, and then told me that he will mail me keys after I fill out a rental application, handing over all my personal information including, past/previous employers, drivers licence, past/ addresses etc.
He stopped returning my emails after I mentioned the actual renters names, and the fact that I would go and knock on the door of the renters in the basement apartment, and see if they knew George to be their landlord. He also didn’t like that I thought the pictures didn’t make sense.
This person needs to be stopped! I noticed immediately after my response to his ad, he removed it from craigslist and contacted me from this e-mail address: graciousfield@yahoo.com. Don’t give out any personal information online. If it sounds too good to be true it is! This guy also spoke a lot about the Lord, and putting his faith in me and the Lord to look after his home while he is away in North Carolina. WATCH OUT!
Remember if you come across a real estate scam on craigslist contact your local authorities and in the U.S. you can also contact the Internet Crime Complaint Center.





